Do You Ever Wonder About a Blogger’s Gender?

Something I often do when I start reading a blog, if it’s not immediately apparent, is to assign in my mind a gender to the blogger.

Sometimes I’m totally surprised when I find out I’m wrong. I mean, some blogs just LOOK male. Or female. Or the writing style is really gender-neutral. Know what I mean?

With some blogs it’s immediately obvious. There are glaring clues.

Like if the blog’s template theme features pastel colors, flowers, birds or bows – well, that’s pretty much a no-brainer.

Then there’s the flip-side, which would be lots of brown, metal, electric hand tools and guns. I guess. I’m just coming up with these things off the top of my head.

But, as usual, I digress.

I think the point I’m trying to arrive at eventually making here is this – does reading my blog, without going to the About My Blog page, clue you in to the fact that I’m a woman?

Is it necessary to know in order to understand the point of my posts?

Does it really matter? SHOULD it really matter?

Or do you even care?

Better yet, should I care?

Because, if you read my post about my little pal OCD Louie, you’ve probably figured out by now that Louie’s been nagging me about my blog.

“Are ya REALLY happy with the template you chose?” “Do you think people know everything they need to know in order to really, really get the most out of your blog?” “Do you think you made it apparent enough what your blog’s about, and all? I mean, sometimes you CAN be a little vague.”

Notice how OCD Louie keeps calling it MY blog, keeps using the word “you” – never “we?” And how he places the blame on me, just in case he’s right?

Louie always thinks of the worst thing that could happen. He’s a real Debbie Downer.
OCD Louie's name with an arrow pointing to a photo of Debbie Downer, Rachel Dratch's SNL character

So, I’m just wondering. Am I the only one who has a nagging little voice in my head, planting seeds of doubt in my already over-taxed mind?

Which I’ll blog about later so you’ll know where I’m REALLY coming from.

About Mai Stone

“A person without a sense of humor is like a wagon without springs…jolted by every pebble on the road.” ~ Henry Ward Beecher ~ A sense of humor is essential for surviving the pebbles on life’s road. Especially when they’re the size of boulders.
This entry was posted in OCD and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Do You Ever Wonder About a Blogger’s Gender?

  1. You are a wealth of wonderfully enchanting characters – real or imagined –
    I too wonder the same about blogs when reading. I’m surprised just how often I error in my assumptions about the blogger. It’s always quite fascinated and take it as another lesson to be learned…
    AnnMarie 🙂
    Great post!

    Like

  2. Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it. And it’s good to hear I’m not the only one who makes assumptions about bloggers’ gender.

    Like

  3. Pingback: So Louie and I Threw a Birthday Party | Pebbles On The Road

  4. ady says:

    Its strange,we started blogging the same month and we never met till now !! I like you perspectives and they very much speak of my inner questions as well like this one 🙂 Well,my answer will be it makes me more comfortable to know once I am regularly talking to anyone 🙂 The jokes,addresses,hugs and kisses are accordingly shared 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

