Have I Told You Lately That I Love My Husband?

Cue music.
“Have I Told You Lately”
By Van Morrison

image of a few bars of sheet music for the song Have I Told You Lately by Van Morrison
Now, while you’ve got that lovely love song playing in your head I’ll tell you one of the many reasons why I love my husband.

It involves my sewing/computer room, Pebbles, thread and The Rock’s sense of humor. Which has softened more rough patches in our lives than I care to remember going through.

I know. I know. But trust me. I’m gonna tie it all together and it will all make sense.

Pebbles, for some reason known only to her, enjoys immensely unrolling spools of sewing thread in my sewing room.

Anyone passing through, be they human or canine, will most likely get entangled, occasionally, in a piece of this nearly-invisible-to-the-naked-eye thread and, possibly, not realize it until the thread has been dragged out the hall and sometimes, in the case of our canine family member, through many rooms of the house.

My sewing room doubles as my computer room which means I spend a lot of time there, which also means The Rock passes through with regularity. Which also means that he has fallen victim a time or two to Pebbles unintentional (or ARE they? Hmm.) almost invisible thread traps.

Of course we’ve both lectured Pebbles about the proper use of thread and what to do with it when she’s finished. But unfortunately Pebbles has the attention span of a (insert here whatever has the shortest attention span in the world) and never seems to remember what we’ve told her.

And so the tiny thread snares remain.

But they also only appear randomly. So we’re never really looking out for them. And in the case of the dog, why would she? She’s a dog.

One of things I love most about my husband is his sense of humor. It gets me through many a dark time.

One of the things that Pebbles is having a hard time understanding is subtle types of humor, such as cliches, exaggerations, dry humor and the like. Which is too bad, because The Rock specializes in subtle humor.

Pebbles takes everything literally. Which means any time we use subtle humor we usually end up having to explain it to her, which pretty much takes all the funny out.

But this one she got. (See the footnote for an explanation of why this was a major thing in our home)

The Rock, after passing through the thread minefield that is my sewing/computer room and getting entangled yet once again, called Pebbles into the room.

“Pebbles,” my kind and patient husband said, “do you remember what we told you about rolling the thread back up when you’re through with it?”

“Yes, daddy.”

“Well, you’re gonna have to work harder at remembering to do that. Yesterday I walked all the way to the barn before I realized I had thread tangled around my boot.”

Pebbles stared at him a few seconds, then her face lit up with the biggest smile, her eyes twinkled and she burst into laughter as she envisioned the trail that thread made from my sewing room, through the long hall, across the den, out the door, down the porch steps, along our 50 foot sidewalk and the rest of the 100 yards to the barn.

Have I told you lately that I love my husband? This is one of the many reasons why.


Footnote: We are still in the diagnosis process, but Pebbles possibly has ADHD along with high-functioning autism, aka Asperger Syndrome. With a side of Sensory Processing Disorder thrown in. Which I’ll blog about at some point.

About Mai Stone

“A person without a sense of humor is like a wagon without springs…jolted by every pebble on the road.” ~ Henry Ward Beecher ~ A sense of humor is essential for surviving the pebbles on life’s road. Especially when they’re the size of boulders.
This entry was posted in Family, Humor, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

