The Ever Changing Face of My Blog is OCD Louie’s Fault

If you are one of the few people who follow my blog you may have noticed that I’ve been experimenting with WordPress themes.

And you’re probably thinking, “What the heck’s going on? Why does she keep changing stuff? Why can’t she just leave well-enough alone?”

Well, I can’t. And it’s because of my little pal OCD Louie, who has once again reared his ugly head.

And in his quiet, yet annoying and naggingly insistent way he keeps telling me, “Are ya really sure ya like the way your blog looks? I mean, have a look at blog X, Y or Z. Now they really have a sweet layout. So much easier for their followers to read. Maybe that’s why ya only have (XX) followers and others have sooo many more.”

SHUT UP, Louie! It’s my blog. NOT YOURS! Got it, mister? Got it? Louie. Come back here right now and let’s get something straight. You don’t control me. Louie. Where did you go? You little weenie.

Aaaaand he’s gone. Poof. Just like he always does when I stand up to him. The big chicken.

But he’s already planted the seed in the part of my brain dominated by OCD.

And so it begins: my experiment with multiple WordPress themes until I find the one that’s just right.

And guess what? I’m right back where I started. I’ve come full circle and am once again using the Twenty Ten Theme, which is the theme I started with. And loved the very first time I saw it.

When am I ever gonna learn to stop listening to Louie and think for myself? Sigh. Probably never since I’m 61 years old and still haven’t figured out how to ignore him.

OCD sucks big time. Such a huge time waster. Wasting time I really need to be spending homeschooling Pebbles. And figuring out how to advocate for her multiple challenges.

Which I promise I’ll blog about at some point. If I can figure out how to stop wasting so much time listening to Louie.

Any suggestions for how to do that are greatly appreciated.


UPDATE: Yay! I finally wrote that post about Pebbles’ challenges, which you can read here.

About Mai Stone

“A person without a sense of humor is like a wagon without springs…jolted by every pebble on the road.” ~ Henry Ward Beecher ~ A sense of humor is essential for surviving the pebbles on life’s road. Especially when they’re the size of boulders.
This entry was posted in OCD and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Ever Changing Face of My Blog is OCD Louie’s Fault

  1. scifihammy says:

    I know what you mean! Every time word.press announces a new theme I think, maybe I should try that? I also have a plain lay out – twenty twelve I think?? That’s probably why I like yours! I can read it 🙂 And don’t stress about the numbers – they lie! I have about 10 people who actually visit my posts; the rest I think clicked by mistake ( I mean, why would a surfer dude want to follow me??) or just randomly click anyone in the hopes that some will follow back. They don’t Actually follow you! Carry on as you are. Your true followers are enjoying your blog 🙂 I am!

    Like

Leave a Reply

