Two Words. Always Proofread.

I have to confess that I’m a bit of a Grammar Nazi. Okay, not just a bit. A whole lot. And a spelling, punctuation, capitalization and paragraph freak, as well.

It isn’t really my fault, though. These just happen to be on the list of things that OCD Louie takes delight in nagging me about.

He’ll go missing for days, sometimes even weeks or longer, and I’ll think, “YESSS!! I’ve got this OCD thing licked. Go, me!!”

Then, out of the blue, with no warning at all, Louie pops up and resumes his special nagging spot on my shoulder – right where he likes to be, close to my ear.

Louie doesn’t nag me about other people’s errors or mistakes, grammatical or otherwise. Oh no. In fact, he likes to point out things others do that are wrong and tell me it’s okay, just so he can lure me into a false sense of trust.


 “Look at those seams. They aren’t perfect, but no one even notices. They don’t distract at all from the overall effect.”

“Now, see there. It’s perfectly okay to have a misspelled word or two. Even professionals make mistakes occasionally.”

“Ya know, it wouldn’t hurt you to loosen up and live with a few mistakes.”


But enough about Louie. Just talking about him gets on my nerves. He and I just finished up our annual Battle of the Tax Return and I need a break from him. You can read about how Louie helps me with my tax return in this post.

What this post is actually about is something I came across while looking for local Halloween activities for Pebbles.

As I said, I can easily overlook typos, misspellings, etc. that other people make. But this one. I just don’t know what to say. I kid you not, other than changes to preserve anonymity and avoid embarrassment, I copied and pasted it exactly as it was written.

See if you can spot the error.

Event: Sometown Fall Festival
Date: November 1, 2014
Location: Some Street, Sometown, USA

Fun filled day for everyone!! Arts, Crafts,Entertainment, Local Food and Wine from two local vineyards. For the kids: Face Painting, games, activities including bounce houses. slides, obstetrical courses. For more information visit www.sometown,usa or call 555-555-5555.

Pebbles has entertained the idea of going into medicine. But I’m thinking a fall festival is neither the time or place to start her education.

So did you spot it? Leave a comment and let me know.


Wondering who The Rock and Pebbles are?
Want to know why we’re raising Pebbles?
And who the heck is OCD Louie?
Find the answer to these burning questions and
more on my About My Blog page.

About Mai Stone

“A person without a sense of humor is like a wagon without springs…jolted by every pebble on the road.” ~ Henry Ward Beecher ~ A sense of humor is essential for surviving the pebbles on life’s road. Especially when they’re the size of boulders.
This entry was posted in Humor, OCD, Other Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Two Words. Always Proofread.

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    OMG! That is hysterical!!!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Underdaddy says:

    Speculum fights? Prenatal vitamin booths? I say this sounds fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hah! Wish I’d read this before posting on one of my blogs today. Usually I proof like crazy, but today I let it go. And as soon as I reposted it on FB, I saw the glaring repetition of words in the first sentence no less! Cringe.

    The errors in the email you copied? A period instead of comma after “houses,” and a comma instead of “dot” in the URL. Maybe a hyphen between fun and filled? Anything else I missed?

    Liked by 1 person

    • You have a sharp eye. I missed the comma in the URL. 😉

      There are also several capitalization errors, but the mistake that made me do a double-take was “obstetrical courses.” I have to assume they meant obstacle courses. Seems like the other might be illegal outside of a medical school.

      I do the same thing you mentioned, find mistakes *after* publishing. I’ve been known to make liberal use of the Edit feature, sometimes long after the original post date. I blame OCD Louie.

      Like

Leave a Reply

