Meet Magneto

If you’ve read my About my Blog page you know that for the purpose of the blog I call my oldest son Magneto. To find out why you can go read about that right now. It’s okay. I’ll wait till you get back.


That’s really all I’ve revealed about him so far.

A single post isn’t nearly enough to tell you about the fabulous life and the amazing adventures Magneto has had. But it is a place to start.

Magneto has always been creative and adventurous. He’s an adrenalin junkie, too. He gets that from The Rock. I’ll blog about that some other time.

When he was young Magneto was constantly planning things to do, building stuff he planned, creating more things to do and build and looking for exciting things to try. Always on the go. Full of ideas. And always drawing, drawing, drawing.

Not surprisingly, he’s now an incredibly gifted artist. And he loves skydiving. So what do you get when you combine those two seemingly unrelated things?

You get this:

Pause the video at two seconds and have a look at that beautiful World Cup of Indoor Skydiving logo. Magneto designed that.

He also designed the beautiful medals given to the winners of the competition.

indoor_skydiving_medal

This is a photo of the actual medal that Magneto got to take home, because his team won second place in the competition.

I wish I could tell you how to spot my son in the video. But there’s that pesky anonymity thing, you know.

Instead I’ll just tell you that I’m one proud momma. In case you couldn’t tell.


Wondering who The Rock and Pebbles are?
Want to know why we’re raising Pebbles?
And who the heck is OCD Louie?
Find the answer to these burning questions and
more on my About My Blog page.

About Mai Stone

“A person without a sense of humor is like a wagon without springs…jolted by every pebble on the road.” ~ Henry Ward Beecher ~ A sense of humor is essential for surviving the pebbles on life’s road. Especially when they’re the size of boulders.
This entry was posted in Our Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Meet Magneto

  1. ady says:

    How did I miss this one,should have been on my WP reader ! or is it still Nov25 now in your place and you posted it few minutes back ? Its 26th Nov 12 noon here 🙂

    Like

    • I’m in the US, in Texas. Right now it’s almost 12:30 AM Nov. 26th, so that makes you 12 hours ahead of me. My WP dashboard tells me this was posted at 11:50 AM today, Nov. 25th (my time). I’m totally confused as to when it should have appeared in your Reader?

      Liked by 1 person

      • ady says:

        Since I am online in last 4 hours and you posted within an hour,it should display it,can you check if its appearing your WP reader ? WP behaves in such weird manners manytimes…

        Like

        • I get email notifications when blogs I follow add new posts so I rarely use the Reader. Not completely sure how it’s supposed to work. My own posts don’t show up there. Are they supposed to?

          Liked by 1 person

          • ady says:

            Yes,first of all,check if you are following your own blog or not.In case,no,first click on follow on your own blog.Next check out what do you see in your WP reader,you should be able to your own posts as well as posts of other blogs you follow.After doing the ‘follow’ thing,and no results,log out,clear caches of browser and log in again,WP reader is simpler for you to see the new posts.Later on when you start getting many many many likes,it will be difficult to see everything in email… 🙂

            Like

            • OK. I can now see my posts in the Reader. And it says I posted this one 14 hours ago. So it doesn’t make sense that you just saw it an hour ago.

              Liked by 1 person

              • ady says:

                If you started writing this post 14 hours back and saved it as draft and edited it again few hours back and published it at 11:50 pm,then it will show the time the draft was created.What you can do now,edit the post,again and check out the time published on the top right side (where status,etc is written) and there change the time to a future time,say today’s date and a time 15 minutes from now and update it.Your status will become ‘post scheduled’ and the the post will be published at 15 minutes from now.So,good and new 😀

                Like

  2. ady says:

    Ok,clumsy as I am I forgot to say anything about the post. Great to know the rock star of your house .Magneto is indeed a magnificent artist !! Its an amazing logo !!!! especially when you get to see it close-up….. Do share some more works of his someday 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OMG I had no idea such a sport existed, with such a wonderful logo. Is there an age limit as to how old you can be? I was always too afraid to sky dive from a plane but this is FLYING…like Peter Pan…And I would love to do that! OMG it looks like so much fun!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • No age limit as far as I know, Pam. My son has been skydiving for years but said until he discovered the wind tunnel he was just free-falling before he opened his canopy. Now he truly does know how to fly and he learned how in the tunnel. You should try it. It’s an amazing experience. Google ‘indoor skydiving’ to find a wind tunnel.
      ~ Mai

      Like

      • Thank you I most certainly will but I highly doubt that there is any wind tunnel within driving distance of rural Vermont.On the other hand, I never thought I would Have the income to get to Vermont, do who knows where I could get to and take a trip via train to just to LEARN TO FLY!!! “I wanna crow, er er er er ERRR!” and FLY like Peter Pan. Yes, I do do do!!!

        Thank you so much, Mai. If i hadn’t found your blog by chance, and happened to fall in love with the title and if I had not taken the opportunity to take a look-see, I would never have known that MAN CAN FLY (and so can we women!) How completely and utterly lovely!

        Pam

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I just googled “IDSD” and I can’t believe it, there is a place right in Montreal that cannot be more than 2 hours or so away! that is unbelievable to me..It is like a dream come true, and I know two people (at least) who might take me there and do it themselves…THANK YOU!

    Like

    • That is wonderful! There’s also a wind tunnel in Nashua, New Hampshire. SkyVenture New Hampshire. Not sure if that’s closer. It’s an exhilarating thought, isn’t it, that we can fly? I do hope you’ll let me know if you go and if you love it. Magneto will be so excited for you, too. In addition to competing he’s also a tunnel instructor. He loves what he does.
      ~ Mai

      Like

      • Yes! I just looked into it. Not sure why my computer only picked up on the one in CAN, but the one in Nashua is exactly the same distance away time-wise. a few more miles but the highway is better and I’ll bet the wait at the border of New Hampshire and Vermont would be better than between CA and the USA!!! 8) Hmmm on the other hand, I have always wanted to see Canada, never been, and I haven’t used my once fluent French in many years, so that would be quite the adventure, all depends on cost I think. But again and again, I thank the lucky stars that led me to your blog and Magneto’s introductory page, because I think this was meant to be!

        Yours

        Pam

        Liked by 1 person

  5. julie says:

    That is crazy! It looks like magic! I could maybe be talked into trying that, seeing as how I am not 3000 feet off the ground. Or getting out of an airplane.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mai Stone says:

      That’s why it’s called indoor skydiving. Magneto says it’s the same experience as falling through the sky at 200 mph. But without the sky. And the ground rushing up at you. Google “indoor skydiving” to find a place to do it. They’re all over the world.

      Like

Leave a Reply

