Be Careful What You Wish For. Or Even Wonder About.

When The Rock and I were raising our four wild kids I often wondered, wistfully, what it would be like to raise an only child.

I love each and every one of our kids, and have always considered it a blessing to be their mother.

But there were times when the fighting and squabbling, the vying for attention, the arguing and whining, the “He’s touching meeee!!!” and “She’s looking at me weird!!!” and “It’s MY turn to sit in the front seeeeeat!!!” and the constant battle to get four kids to pick up their stuff and the endless rushing here and there and everywhere to get everybody where they needed to be when they needed to be there made me look longingly at mothers of onlies and think, “I really wonder what that would be like.”

The Rock and I actually planned to have a large family. In fact, we planned on having six kids.

Then our #4, Xander, came along and, what with his extreme bouncing-off-the-walls, hyper-out-of-his-skin ADHD, he was like three kids all rolled into one package. It felt all the time like we were actually raising six kids.

We decided that we had been unknowingly transported to an alternate dimension, where the laws of math that we knew no longer applied. In other words, three plus one now equalled six. Our magic Time to Stop Procreating number.

alternate dimension math problem, 3 + 1 = 6

Alternate dimension math

And I continued to wonder, at times when things were the roughest, what it would be like to raise an only child.

Fast forward 20 years after Xander’s birth and I got to find out. Pebbles was born.

Her mama, our daughter Sapphire, was, sadly, a drug addict and to protect Pebbles we had to take her away from her mother.

If you have never had to take your child’s child away from him or her, I don’t recommend it. If there’s any way to avoid it, that is. It’s heart wrenching.

But in our case there wasn’t any other option and so, at an age when we were way too old to be doing it all over again, The Rock and I once again became parents. To an only child.

I guess it’s true that there’s always a silver lining. If you look hard enough. At least Sapphire didn’t give birth to twins.

Pebbles has been an extremely difficult child to raise. Not because we’re old. Because she’s an extremely difficult child. I wrote about that here.

She’s also a pure delight and we love her to pieces. But there have been some indescribably, horridly rough times with this child. And then there are the as-yet-possibly-not-accurately-diagnosed disorders/conditions/challenges/disabilities. Which I also wrote about here.

So while I am actually getting to know what it’s like to raise an only child, maybe I should have been more specific when I was wondering what it was like.

You know what they say (whoever “they” are), “The devil is in the details.”

Wondering who The Rock and Pebbles are? Want to know
why we’re raising Pebbles? And who the heck is OCD Louie?
Find the answers and more on my About My Blog page.

You might also like Eleven Random Facts About Me and
My Answers to Sophie’s Questions on my Liebster page.

About Mai Stone

“A person without a sense of humor is like a wagon without springs…jolted by every pebble on the road.” ~ Henry Ward Beecher ~ A sense of humor is essential for surviving the pebbles on life’s road. Especially when they’re the size of boulders.
This entry was posted in Our Family, Pebbles, Special Needs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

