First World Problems

I just recently was introduced to the phrase ‘First World problem.’ Yeah, I know, it’s been around awhile. But I’ve been busy.

Today I had a flash of inspiration (it happens…sometimes) when Pebbles was whining endlessly, on and on, about her colored pencils.

Pebbles: I haaa-te digging through my colored pencil box! It’s meeee-an that they make black and brown pencils look so much a-liiike!! It’s STUPID!!

(For some reason, and for which I have no explanation, everything Pebbles perceives as a problem is caused by someone, somewhere, somehow, being mean.)

Me: What you have there is a First World problem.

Pebbles: It’s not faaaa-ir…..huh?

Me: A First World problem.

Pebbles: What’s that?

Me: Well, remember the things we learned about people living in Third World countries? Do you think those children even have colored pencils?

Pebbles: Um. Probably not.

Me: Let me show you a photo of a child in Syria sleeping between his parents.

Pebbles: Okay.

staged photo of boy sleeping between  graves.Photo Credit – Abdul Aziz al Otaibi


According to Wikipedia:

First World problem
The term is used to minimize complaints about trivial issues by shaming the complainer.


Although I didn’t know it at the time I am now aware that this was a staged photo.

Doesn’t matter. It made a big impression on Pebbles and shamed her into stopping the whining. For awhile.

I’ll  shamelessly take whatever little victories come my way.


May we each be thankful for all our blessings during this holiday season.

Wondering who The Rock and Pebbles are? Want to know
why we’re raising Pebbles? And who the heck is OCD Louie?
Find the answers and more on my About My Blog page.

You might also like Eleven Random Facts About Me and
My Answers to Sophie’s Questions on my Liebster page.

About Mai Stone

“A person without a sense of humor is like a wagon without springs…jolted by every pebble on the road.” ~ Henry Ward Beecher ~ A sense of humor is essential for surviving the pebbles on life’s road. Especially when they’re the size of boulders.
This entry was posted in Home School, Pebbles and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First World Problems

  1. scifihammy says:

    It does no harm to remind a child now and then how well off they are! We all take things for granted.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

