OCD Louie Makes Me Look Up! Look Up! Look Up!

I just realized I haven’t mentioned OCD Louie for awhile. That’s because he comes and he goes. In and out my life.

(Does anyone besides me hear the Four Tops singing Sugar Pie Honey Bunch?)

I’ve previously mentioned that I’m pretty sure I have a touch of OCD.  I’m also pretty sure my OCD is male and speaks in comedian Louie Anderson’s voice, which is why I named him Louie. You can read more about my Louie here.

One of the ways this pesky little bugger manifests himself is by sitting on my shoulder, silently watching everything I type and when he sees a word we aren’t completely sure that we know the meaning or correct spelling of, he taps me ever so gently and says, “Shouldn’t we look that one up? Ya know, just to be sure?”

I usually ignore him, but he doesn’t give up. When the ever-so-gentle tap and question don’t produce the desired response Louie nudges a bit harder, right in my rib cage, with his pointy little elbow.

But I continue nonchalantly typing away, repeating to myself my OCD-defeating mantra, “I don’t have to be perfect. Making mistakes is OK.”

Next, Louie tries grabbing my cheeks, shaking my head from side to side and screaming in my face like a spittle-spewing drill sergeant.

I’m pretty good at ignoring all of his tricks.

But that diabolical little sneak knows my greatest weakness and pulls it out like a trump card and uses it on me. Every. Single. Time.

He gets into my thoughts.

That’s it. Just one teeny little thought, planted in my subconscious and left to take root, and before you know it I’m Googling definitions and/or spellings.

At this point I’m pretty sure OCD Louie goes off somewhere to take a break, probably chillaxing with a good book and a soda, because he knows. He knows his work is done. For now.

And, in case you don’t know, here’s the definition and correct spelling of chillaxing. I know it’s correct because I asked the all-knowing Oracle Google.


chillaxing \ chĭl-lăks’ĭng \ , verb;

  1. Relaxing, chilling.

♬ ….I can’t help myself. No, I can’t help myself…. ♬

Wondering who The Rock and Pebbles are? Want to know
why we’re raising Pebbles? And who the heck is OCD Louie?
Find the answers and more on my About My Blog page.

You might also like Eleven Random Facts About Me and
My Answers to Sophie’s Questions on my Liebster page.

About Mai Stone

“A person without a sense of humor is like a wagon without springs…jolted by every pebble on the road.” ~ Henry Ward Beecher ~ A sense of humor is essential for surviving the pebbles on life’s road. Especially when they’re the size of boulders.
This entry was posted in OCD and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to OCD Louie Makes Me Look Up! Look Up! Look Up!

  1. scifihammy says:

    Ah – but isn’t it great fun looking up words? Especially in a dictionary, cos then you get lost for hours reading Other interesting words, before you ever find the one you were originally looking for! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gibber says:

    You want I should come and smack Louie in his face?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

