Back Up. Backup. Back-UP! BACKUP!! BACKUP!!!! ASAP!!!!

file cabinet with files and folders falling out the bottomI had a heart-sickening moment this morning when my electricity went off and my computer shut down.

When I restarted the computer and opened up my mail and calendar program…YIKES!! ALL my mail folders were empty!! My calendar was empty!!

This is a major thing for me. I keep everything I need to remember to do on my calendar. I don’t use web-based email and The Rock and I have an online business. So I really kinda need those business mail folders with customers orders.

I do, however, have a nifty backup script that runs every night. It automagically backs up all my data to an external hard drive.

Getting my life back required nothing more than simply copying the backed up folder from the external hard drive to my computer’s hard drive and I was back in business.

Raven, from Teen Titans Go cartoon, meditating, peacefully floating.This isn’t the first time my backups have restored peace to my soul and saved my sanity.
<===== Backed up data
<===== Peace
<===== Sanity
<===== Ahhh, yes

(A photo of Raven from Cartoon Networks’ Teen Titans Go on my blog makes me cool in Pebbles’ eyes.)

My backup plan isn’t perfect, though. The only backups I have are stored on that external HD. In my house. Should my house burn to the ground I’d lose both my original data and my backup. I’m still working on a paranoid computer nerd’s cloud backup solution. Until I perfect it and have my files also stored securely off-premises and safe from prying eyes I won’t feel completely at ease.

But the moral to this story is….do you have a backup strategy for your important data? How much anguish would it cause you to lose all those precious photos either on your phone or pc or that you’ve uploaded to Facebook, Instagram, Flicker or wherever? How about business documents? Browser bookmarks? Email? Your blog?

If there is only one copy of something you consider important, whether it’s stored on your own personal device/machine or on someone’s server floating around in Internet Cloud Land, you are taking the chance of losing it.

ALL
OF
IT.
FOREVER.

Just let that thought sink in for a moment. Makes you wanna get started on that backup plan, doesn’t it?

cartoon depicting man on phone with tech support . man: my hard drive crached. tech support: did you backup?

I hope this post gets you thinking about figuring out a way that works for you to have multiple copies of your precious electronic data, in multiple locations. And by multiple I mean more places than your iPhone and iTunes/iCloud.

I could write a tutorial about how to do that. But I really need to spend my time homeschooling Pebbles. I learned everything I needed to know by consulting the all-knowing Oracle Google, at whose feet I worship for providing me with massive amounts of info when I need it.

One tip I can quickly share is how to back up you WordPress.com blog. You can read about it here.

And I’ll leave you with these three words of advice. Always keep them in mind when setting up a backup plan.

AUTOMATIC – because if it isn’t, you probably won’t remember to do it.
REGULAR – daily, at the least.
REDUNDANT – never depend on a single source with the stuff that’s important.

Wondering who The Rock and Pebbles are? Want to know
why we’re raising Pebbles? And who the heck is OCD Louie?
Find the answers and more on my About My Blog page.

You might also like Eleven Random Facts About Me and
My Answers to Sophie’s Questions on my Liebster page.

About Mai Stone

“A person without a sense of humor is like a wagon without springs…jolted by every pebble on the road.” ~ Henry Ward Beecher ~ A sense of humor is essential for surviving the pebbles on life’s road. Especially when they’re the size of boulders.
This entry was posted in Other Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Back Up. Backup. Back-UP! BACKUP!! BACKUP!!!! ASAP!!!!

  1. Gibber says:

    Yikes! I think I have things backed up but now I want to make sure.

    You have me curious what online business you do. You don’t have to answer if you don’t feel comfortable doing so, it’s just been something I want to do.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. scifihammy says:

    Very good advice. I do back up things that are important to me on various different flash sticks/external hard drives. You never know when something will stop working!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glazed says:

    A flash drive in a safe deposit box might bring you peace of mind.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Underdaddy says:

    Or when you kids eat an important piece of paper like a power bill or someone’s phone number. They are worse than a dog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

