Left Brain vs. Right Brain. Who Wins?

I mentioned in April that The Rock, Pebbles and I were far away from home getting treatment for Pebbles. And in May I told you a little bit about the STAR Center in Denver where we took her.

But I haven’t shared any details yet because….well, The Rock and I are just a wee bit overwhelmed with all the information we have to wade through now that we’re back home. We have literally pages and pages and pages of reports and recommendations to read through, digest and figure out how we’re going to implement them into our lives.

But there is one thing I want to share today. It’s something I figured out about how Pebbles learns. It explains why it’s been so freakin’ hard for me to find a homeschooling method that works for her.

Pebbles is a right-brain learner/thinker/doer. I’m a left-brainer, with a little bit of creativity (right-brain stuff) thrown in.

When it comes to homeschooling, unfortunately, my left brain wants to throw its weight around and insist on doing things methodically. By the book. My left brain is very OCDish. I’m pretty sure it’s where OCD Louie hides when he isn’t torturing me.

But Pebbles turns glassy-eyed and loses the ability to hear and to sit still whenever I start “teaching” her.

So I’ve been madly researching ways to teach her that make sense to her, that will engage her mind and tap into her interests. Basically, I need to figure out how to make learning so dang much fun that she’ll think we’re just playing games.

Which I’m gonna get right back to as soon as I publish this post. But first I’m gonna share this left-brain/right-brain image with you. Because I know you’re gonna love it.

drawing of right brain/left brain. Arrow pointin to left brain says "Get a calculator." Arrow pointing to right brain says, "Get a blog."

Wondering who The Rock and Pebbles are? Want to know
why we’re raising Pebbles? And who the heck is OCD Louie?
Find the answers and more on my About My Blog page.

You might also like Eleven Random Facts About Me
and My Answers to Sophie’s Questions on my Liebster page.

About Mai Stone

“A person without a sense of humor is like a wagon without springs…jolted by every pebble on the road.” ~ Henry Ward Beecher ~ A sense of humor is essential for surviving the pebbles on life’s road. Especially when they’re the size of boulders.
This entry was posted in Home School, OCD, Pebbles, Special Needs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Left Brain vs. Right Brain. Who Wins?

  1. Deb says:

    Challenge indeed, and hopefully you find that down the road you can meet somewhere in the middle 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gibber says:

    I can’t imagine how hard that would be but I’m glad you at least know why it’s been so hard. That’s a start right? xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mai Stone says:

      It is a start, for sure. Now if I can figure out a way to wrestle my left brain into submission and let my right brain take over for a while I might start thinking like Pebbles. Which is probably the solution to the whole problem. That, and getting OCD Louie to shut up for a while.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Gibber says:

        I’ll bet getting just plain old silly would help. When I worked with kids it seemed to really go over well with them. I can come and beat up Louie if you want. Sounds like he needs a good ass kicking. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

